Film Diaries: Christina

Hi everyone! I’m starting a new series on this blog titled Film Diaries. Each post will feature a new film photographer’s work and a mini interview. So sit back, scroll down, and enjoy our first featured photographer’s advice and photos!
christina1

Tell me a little bit about yourself, what are some of your passions and interests?

I’m currently a senior at the University of California, Berkeley majoring in Media Studies, but I’ve always had a passion for the arts, specifically fashion and photography. 

christina2

How long have you been doing film photography? Did anyone inspire you to start using film?

I started shooting on film two years ago when I took a photography class during my time in community college. Not only were we taught how to shoot film, but we also had access to the dark room and were instructed to develop and print our own photos. It was so much fun (and a little bit nerve racking, for those who have ever developed film you’d know the complicated process I’m talking about), but that’s where my interest in film first began. Before that, I already had my own DSLR camera and was taking photos with that, but not as seriously as I am now. Two Christmases ago my boyfriend bought me my first film camera and I fell in love with it. I hope to get more camera equipment in the future!
.
Processed with VSCO with a8 preset

What kind of camera(s) do you use? 

The film camera I’m using is an Olympus OM-1, my boyfriend bought it from Amazon and it’s perfect. I’ve used a Nikon film camera in the past, and maybe I’ll buy one in the future, but for now I’m happy with the one I have and recommend it to others who are looking to get started with film. Amazon has great deals and if you have any doubts about used cameras, just take it to your nearest photo store and have them check it out to make sure it works properly.

christina4

What kind of film?

As for film, I’m currently using FujiFilm 400 ISO colored film (also bought from Amazon for a great price). After I’ve finished with those rolls I’ll be moving on to black and white. When I took photography in community college, we solely worked with black and white film, so I was excited to try color…and I fell in love. I used to adore black and white, but now I’m seeing in color.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Why film? What is intriguing about film to you over modern digital cameras?

I have my DSLR, which I still use religiously, but I’ve always enjoyed the way that film photos turn out. In my personal opinion, film photography looks a little better than digital. I guess I prefer the natural grain and the way film cameras are better able to capture highlights in comparison to digital ones. As for the process, there’s more fun and excitement in waiting to see how your photos turned out. With digital, the feedback is immediate, but with film the more you wait, the more anxious you become waiting to see the outcome. As a photographer whose played with both film and digital, you take less time composing your photos with digital while with film photographers have to be very careful not to waste their film and instead focus on getting the composition just right.
.

christina5

Do you have any advice for those looking into starting film photography?

If you’re interested in film, I’d start by taking a class at your local school that offers film photography. It’s the best way to ensure you fully understand the process and you get to ask tons of questions during the way! If classes aren’t really your style, then I recommend reading up on photography first, buying some books or looking at some online blogs on the matter. It’s important to understand the basics before you start so you don’t waste your film and then have to constantly buy new rolls only for a few good shots. After you’ve done your research, head over to amazon and buy your own camera (or if you’re lucky enough to have a friend who owns a film camera use theirs) and just shoot! They may not turn out entirely great your first few tries, but you’ll eventually get the hang of it, the most important thing is to have fun along the way!

christina9

I hope this advice helped and I encourage everyone to try film photography at least once in their lifetime, it’s life changing.

For more of Christina’s Photography check out her social media!

IG: photosbychristinaa

tumblr: photosbychristinaa

sketch15422747

One thought on “Film Diaries: Christina

Leave a Reply

